Blue glowing high energy plasma field in space, computer generated abstract background

Call for Nominations

VMware offers an annual award to an exceptional early-career faculty member conducting computer science systems research. Eligible faculty are those within five years of their first tenure-track appointment. The award provides USD $125,000 in support of her/his research. Prior recipients include:

  • 2016: Professor Matei Zaharia of Stanford University
  • 2017:  Professor Tim Kraska of Brown University (now MIT)
  • 2018:  Professor Tiark Rompf of Purdue University
  • 2019:  Professor Mohammad Alizadeh of MIT

We are pleased to open the nomination window and request nominations by October 23, 2020. Nominations are limited to one per department chair (or equivalent). For full details of the award and nomination process please visit Nominations will also be automatically considered for an independently-evaluated and separate category of early-career faculty awards.

VMware traces its roots to academic research, and we feel a special responsibility to support the growth and vitality of systems research in computer science. We hope you and your colleagues will consider nominating someone whose early-career work you believe most role-models originality, impact, and future promise.

Importantly, VMware is committed to diversity in all aspects of our organization. We embrace diversity through our employees, the suppliers and partners we work with, our customers, and the communities in which we work and live.

For questions, or to submit a nomination, please email


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *